Issues While Installing SimpleCV

In my last post, I described the method to install and work with SimpleCV. Jay Rambhia, a fellow Bitsian is currently doing GSoC in the very same field. I believe his blogs will be a great way to stay updated with the  current developments. One of the prerequisites for SimpleCV to work is pygame. And pygame itself has a few dependencies. Now the problem is pygame will get installed even if these dependencies are not met and not untill you finally start coding that you find that there are a few problems to work around .

The best way to install pygame would be to go to there website and download the latest version. Extract and change into the pygame directory.Now run the following command on your shell.

 

sudo python config.py

 

There is a config.py file that checks up whether the dependencies are available and gives a prompt.It also creates a Setup.txt file that the setup.py uses to finally install pygame. If you run the above command and find any of the dependencies missing, go ahead and install them. I had a few missing in my case. So all I did was:

 

sudo apt-get install libsdl-ttf-*

sudo apt-get install libsdl-mixer-*

sudo apt-get install libsdl-image-*

sudo apt-get install libsmpeg-*

sudo apt-get install libportmidi-*

 

The libraries are for SDL true type font,audio mixer, image and  library for real-time MIDI input/output. Once you have them installed, run the config.py file again to check if all the libraries are installed and found. Run the setup.py file finally and then go ahead and install SimpleCV.

About ranjanritesh

I am currently working as a Software Engineer for Cisco Systems India in Bangalore. I’ve been working for Cisco since August 2013. I am a BITS Goa Alumni. I earned my Bachelors in Electronics and Instrumentation in August 2013 from there. My interests include Image Processing, Systems Programming and hacking on the Linux Kernel. I also like tinker a bit with Arduino and other microcontrollers.
This entry was posted in Open Source, Python, SimpleCV, Tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

